BLOGMAS DAY EIGHT: Variations on Salted Caramel and Pecan Chocolate Cookies. Yes.

I am very, very far behind on this Blogmas business, due to being poorly and distracted and not being able to find certain resources for recipes and many other excuses, but I am determined to catch up and here is an offering I am extremely pleased with.

SaltedCaraCookies5

I wanted to include salted caramel, pecan and chocolate in cookie form. So I returned to, and modified, a great basic cookie recipe which my housemates used very often during university, the BBC Good Food Millie’s Cookies recipe. When making these I attempted a few different ways of presenting them, to give some options and try out some new things. These cookies are really gooey and soft and the the saltyness combined with the sweet is bizarre but really nice.

Anyway, on to the recipe:

INGREDIENTS

4oz/125g butter, softened
3.5oz/100g light brown soft sugar
4oz/125g caster sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
7oz/200g self-raising flour
1oz/25g cocoa powder
2 dessert spoons of milk
Sea salt
A bag of pecans
Some form of caramel pieces (I used Cadbury’s Dairy Milk Caramel Nibbles)

1. Preheat the oven to gas mark 4/180c/350f. Prepare baking trays by covering with greaseproof paper.
2. Cream together the butter and sugars, followed by the egg and vanilla.
3. Mix in the flour and then sift in the cocoa powder, along with a couple of spoons of milk, to keep the dough moist.
3. Roll the dough into balls using your hands and place on the baking trays, baring in mind that the cookies will spread and grow in the oven- so leave enough space between each one for this!
4. PRESENTATION VARIATIONS I TRIED:

VARIATION A:I made three trays of these cookies, the first time I went simple and broke up pieces of pecan and arranged them on top of the cookie, with two of the caramel nibbles placed on top of each other in the centre of the cookie, I then topped with salt. I baked these for eight minutes and then left them to cool.

SaltedCaraCookie3

VARIATION B: The second time I did exactly the same as the first, up until cooking. I then rolled another ball for each cookie and squashed them on top. Then I added another caramel nibble which I broke up on top of the cookie, then added a little more salt on top of that. I baked these for 12-13 minutes and left them to cool.

SaltedCaraCookie2

VARIATION C: This is very, very similar to B, except I added two caramel nibbles on top instead of one and also added some pecans on top too. These definitely have the best aesthetics of the three attempts! I also baked these for 12-13 minutes and left them to cool.

SaltedCaraCookie4

So there you have it! These cookies make your house smell so good, so they would be perfect for making when you have friends or family over during the Christmas period! Let me know if any of you make them!!

Jess xxx

Leave a Reply

