BLOGMAS DAY TWO: Baking went wrong (sob) so GARLICY LEEK AND POTATO SOUP

Well, it is fair to say that my second post of Blogmas has been a tad disastrous. Initially I intended to make a delicious batch of biscuits which were going to be inspired by millionaire shortbread and my favourite winter starbucks drink: the peppermint hot chocolate. However I fell at the first hurdle with this and am snacking on the scraps from my attempt today- have no fear though, I will be persevering with this and the recipe will be up soon, I’m almost positive of this.

So I am giving you my Dad’s Leak and Potato soup recipe- with extra garlic, cream and black pepper, courtesy of me. The other disaster of the blog is the lack of pictures (this explains the posy feature picture of me from last Christmas) (Couldn’t help but start singing then, LAAAST CHRISTMAS I GAVE YOU MY HEART…). I’M SORRY. I know blogs without pictures are boring, I did try, but the lighting was vile and I was hungry and unwilling to wait! I promise the next posts will be bursting with pictures (this is a loose promise). So instead of pictures, here is a video with the best song about soup ever written.

LEAK AND POTATO SOUP (For one- obviously multiply depending on how many people want some soup)

Knob of butter
2 Small leaks- thinly sliced
1 Onion- cut into small pieces
Garlic to taste- crushed
2 Potatoes- cut into small pieces
1 Chicken or vegetable stock cube dissolved into just over half a pint of boiling water (You could also make fresh stock but that wasn’t convenient today!)
Cream

1. Melt the butter into a large pan. Then add the leaks, onion and garlic and cook on a medium heat until the leak is very soft, but it should not brown. My Dad informed me that this is called ‘sweating’- I guess you learn something new everyday!
2. Meanwhile, boil some water in a pan big enough to fit the potatoes in. Boil the potatoes until very soft and then drain.
3. Once the leaks etc have been cooking for a while you should go ahead and pour in the stock and the potatoes and bring to the boil. Let this all simmer together for a little while to make sure it’s all nice and soft.
4. Take the pan off the heat and then blend it all together using a hand blender. Blend for as long as you like, depending on whether you like your soup chunky or smooth.
5. Put the pan back on the hob to heat through nicely and season to taste.
6. Serve the soup with a swirl of double cream and some crusty bread.

I have to say, this soup was delicious, better than my favourite Covent Garden Soup, which I have sworn by for years!

Hope this post hasn’t been too disappointing! Hopefully tomorrow I will come back with a vengeance! A Christmassy vengeance though!

Have a lovely weekend,

Jess xxx

Leave a Reply

