Random Food Post: The Easiest Home Made Soup In The World!

Hello!
I was just about to make my almost completely improvised home made soup tonight and for some reason thought it might come of interest to somebody, somewhere so I thought I’d blog it on the off chance! This really is so easy and cheap…and while I know it would be easier to go buy a tin of soup, there is something very satisfying about making it yourself, plus you can control what goes in! As a student I find it best to be able to make meals that will last me more than one night, so this is perfect!

INGREDIENTS

1 Onion
1 or 2 Peppers
1 Tin of Chopped Tomatoes
1/2 A Jar of Pasta Sauce (This is definitely optional but I had a tomato and mascarpone one in the fridge so I thought I’d post it in!)
1 Stock Cube (I used chicken)
Two pieces of bread (plus however much you like to mop your soup up with!)

P1010123(1)

1. Firstly, chop up the onions and peppers and fry them in some olive oil to soften them. While this is happening boil about a pint of water and mix in the stock cube. You also need to cut the crusts off the bread, you can save these and dip them in your soup with it’s cooking!

2. Next pour the chopped tomatoes, pasta sauce, stock and bread and let it come to the boil. I then just let it cook for a good ten minutes or so.

3. I then get my handheld blender (Can you believe I got mine from for £5!) and blended up so that the soup looks more soup like! Season it now, I like lots of pepper!

And Voila! Ridiculously quick, easy and yummy soup!

P1010132(1)

Also look at the paper snowflakes my housemates and I made for Christmas! Not entirely sure they’ll come down until we leave and they have to! But they are pretty impressive and cool and we’re too lazy to take them down anyway!

P1010124(1)

Hope you enjoyed this recipe, it’s perfect for lazy days when you want to eat something healthy and yummy and don’t want to eat pasta for the sixth night in the row! Hope everyone’s having a good week!

Jess xxx

Leave a Reply

